Skip to content

CALTENDAI.ORG NOTE SENT ON DAISAKU IKEDA’S BIRTHDAY

2 January 2015

Just sent the following note to caltendai.org as a stream of thoughts no editing intentionally to kill the internal critic:

Hello, My name is Tyler Alexander Cook. I am a disciple of Daisaku Ikeda, which further means I am an envoy of the eternal Shakyamuni Buddha hidden in the depths of the 16th chapter of the Lotus Sutra. I have a consistent Buddhist practice. Although I am a bit of a renegade and my mission in life is to propagate the Daimoku Myoho-Renge-Kyo, Nam-Myoho-Renge-Kyo, Namu-Myoho-Renge-Kyo. I was told in 1999 that I could pray for whatever I wanted and I responded with a child like Joy and Delight and Absolute Faith (probably a trait I inherited from the long line of Christian Missionaries (puritans and Mormons). Anyways, I wanted my prayer to go away for the first 7 years because I for sure got what I asked for and it freaked me out because I didn’t want to take any responsibility for others, but alas after around 7 years and a few dramatic awakenings I decided to become a Nichiren Buddhist. Now as a lay practitioner I dedicated the latter part of my 20’s to smashing my old views of myself. And I have studied to a point that from my understanding, Nichiren Daishonin talked all of nasty things to the practitioner’s from other schools and Tendai seems to get the least of the bashing, but still is refuted based on the Lotus Sutra. Now, I am a bit stubborn and renegade (probably another trait from my puritan and Mormon + my parents rock and roll do what you want we don’t like authority kinda mentality(they were neither very spiritual or religious and much more into the three evil paths of greed anger and foolishness which caused alot of suffering for me that to this day is generally not grasped by them, but it made me a very caring wise and lovable character, and I appreciate them so much). But, I am 32 as of November 1st, 2014 and I have no children, a mountain of debt, generally no friends(because I have Shakubukued all of them with generally no success in conversions, so I am getting frustrated a bit and was thinking of disappearing into the woods or the mountains to order my thoughts and regroup, and I would love nothing other than to become a Buddhist Monk and remove the delusions and illusions that still hold me back) Anyways, That’s probably enough background for now.

So, I already know what you are offering is amazing from years sprinkled here and there of being in an ideal environment to cultivate my inner vision in seclusion.

My question is this: I still want to raise a family, and I do not understand making a vow a celibacy. I can understand following the rules in the Lotus, as never to preach to a women alone in her home and things of that nature, but for me to make a vow to never be intimate with a women again is a major block me. So, how long can I do a test run, I can make a vow of celibacy for maybe say 7 years? is that an okay deal? Just curious about that as I refuse to not be myself, but still your path strikes me as the most amazing opportunity that I may just be a fool for not taking it up as I have the desire and capacity to really excel as a monk based on the experiences I have had from 1999-2014. However, Also, what is your current school’s view of Nichiren Buddhism. I see that you pronounce MU in NAMU when chanting as Nichiren Shu does, but they don’t believe Nichiren is “Daishonin” but just “shonin” so that is a point of interest to discuss. Also, I see that you do chant Namu-Myoho-Renge-Kyo, but since your school’s honzon is Fudo-myo’o do you chant to that? or do you have Nichiren Inscribed Gohonzon’s? and if not, can I bring mine? Will I be able to learn how to make my own if that is my wish? I study about 14 different spiritual paths and have a strong desire to write manuals and sutras related to teaching people what I have learned too so that I may help people not make the same mistakes I did. But, I know people that I respect who would probably call me a Slanderer of the Law for joining your School. Alas, I don’t have the proper questions I want to ask you completely formulated and I have thought about it for many moons now and I just figured I’d get the ball rolling and stream some of my brain out and communicate it to you in a non-censored fashion. Please excuse my poor grammar as I am not going to proof read for fear of editing out my true thoughts.

Anyways, you can call me anytime 818-964-1255 <–1255 was when On Attaining Buddhahood in this Lifetime was written and what are your views on that Gosho and the stance your school has on it, and on a person who believes that wholeheartedly, Further, email at the address listed above, or preferably here: mu.jin.ni.constant.exertion211@gmail.com

Thank you very much, and if whatever you say back to me is a response I can live with and move down this path, would your school oppose me working on a Sutra where I fulfill my mentor’s mentor’s (josei toda 2-11-1900) vision of a future sutra of Buddhism which refers to the Soka Gakkai as the Soka Gakkai Buddha?

Tyler Alexander Cook aka Alex West
May Peace Be With You Always, in All Ways, Nam-Myoho-Renge-Kyo

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

