Skip to content and source

6 April 2015

Buddhism teaches that putting all our effort into the challenges we face right now is the key to future success and to opening up the kinds of opportunities which will enable us to utilize our skills and talents and ultimately contribute to creating a better world. – 

Myoho-renge-kyo [妙法蓮華経] (Jpn): (1) The Japanese reading of the Chinese title of the Lotus Sutra of the Wonderful Law (Miao-fa-lien-hua-ching), translated by Kumārajīva in 406 from the Sanskrit Lotus Sutra, Saddharma-pundarīka-sūtraSee also Lotus Sutra of the Wonderful Law.
(2) The Mystic Law, or Nam-myoho-renge-kyo. This is the essence of Nichiren’s teaching, which comprises the Three Great Secret Laws, and which, he assures his followers, enables all people to attain BuddhahoodOn the Four Stages of Faith and the Five Stages of Practice, written in 1277 by Nichiren, reads, “The five characters of Myoho-renge-kyo do not represent the sutra [Lotus Sutra] text, nor are they its meaning. They are nothing other than the intent of the entire sutra” (788). In Earthly Desires Are Enlightenment, Nichiren writes, “Practicing only the seven characters of Nam-myoho-renge-kyo seems limited, but since they are the master of all the Buddhas of the three existences, the teacher of all bodhisattvas in the ten directions, and the guide that enables all living beings to attain the Buddha way, it is profound” (317). See also five or seven charactersNam-myoho-renge-kyo.

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. and source | MYSTIC LAW

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: